Workbook Activity

Screenshot 2014-06-07 20.48.05

I have been looking at various books on doctoral research and, while I had downloaded a few for my Kindle, they were mostly books on PhDs – helpful but I needed something more specific to professional doctorates.

So yesterday I came across The Professional Doctorate by John Fulton, Judith Kuit, Gail Sanders and Peter Smith all of whom are academics, from the University of Sunderland, here in the UK, and are involved in the delivery and management of professional doctorates. After a brief review, it looked ok so I ordered the book from Amazon and as a Prime user, it landed today.

One really helpful facet of the book are the activities associated with each thematic section. So helpful in fact, I thought it would be useful if I worked through the activities here.

The first activity, in Chapter 2 – Choosing Your Research Project And Franking Your Research Question, relates to Knowledge Production and the ‘type’ of knowledge which is generated from [the] doctoral research.

The authors posit that there are two modes of production as shown in the image below (shown with my annotations), and which I snapped from the book itself:

Screenshot_2014-06-07_21_11_58

I also found an article by Laurens K. Hessels & Harro van Lente entitled ‘Re-thinking new knowledge production: A literature review and a research agenda’. The article expresses the ‘Modes’ thus:

Mode 1 Mode 2
Academic context Context of application
Disciplinary Transdisciplinary
Homogeneity Heterogeneity
Autonomy Reflexivity/social accountability
Traditional quality control (peer review) Novel quality control

Activity

So the activity in the book, associated with this section, is to decide whether the ideas about my professional doctorate best fits Mode 1 or 2.

Both the book and the article posit that professional doctorates are Mode 2 in nature. As can be seen from the descriptions above, together with my annotations on the image, I would agree with this assertion, in that mode 2 would indeed describe the form of knowledge production associated with my research.

  • Chris
